Low Speed Vehicles (LSV) & Personal Transportation Vehicles (PTV)

Registration Form

PTV Registration

LSV/PTV Ordinance Information

LSV/PTV Ordinance

Low Speed Vehicle (LSV)


What is a Low Speed Vehicle (LSV)?

Any four-wheeled electric vehicle whose top speed attainable in one mile is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface and which is manufactured in compliance with those federal motor vehicle safety standards for low-speed vehicles set forth in 49 C.F.R. Section 571.500.

Are LSVs required to be registered?

Yes. LSVs are required to be registered with the Glynn County Tax Commissioner’s Office just like any other motor vehicle.

Where and how can LSVs be operated?

State Law allows LSVs to be operated on any public street with a speed limit of thirty-five (35) miles per hour or less. 

  1. Must be 16 years old with a valid driver’s license to operate.
  2. Low-speed vehicles shall comply with all applicable provisions of Article 1, Chapter 8, Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated. 
  3. LSVs shall not be operated on sidewalks or bike paths at any time. 


Personal Transportation Vehicle (PTV)

What is a Personal Transportation Vehicle (PTV)?

Any motor vehicle with a minimum of four wheels, capable of a maximum level ground speed of less than 20 miles per hour with a maximum gross vehicle unladen or empty weight of 1,375 pounds and capable of transporting not more than eight persons. 

1. Does not include mobility aids, including power wheelchairs and scooters, which can be used indoors and outdoors for the express purpose of enabling mobility for a person with a disability. 

2. Does not include any all-terrain vehicle or multipurpose off-highway vehicle.

Are PTVs required to be registered?

Yes. PTVs are required to be registered with Glynn County prior to operation on public streets in the unincorporated areas of Glynn County. 

  1. Registration is required once every five (5) years or when ownership is transferred. 
  2. 15.00 registration fee. 
  3.  Registration decal issued by Glynn County must be permanently affixed to driver’s side of PTV in such a manner as to be visible at all times.

  4.  Registration is non-transferable.


Where and how can PTVs be operated?

County Ordinance allows PTVs to be operated on any public street with a speed limit of twenty-five (25) miles per hour or less. 

  1. Must be 16 years old with a valid driver’s license to operate.
  2. The maximum occupancy of a PTV shall be one person per designated seat. 
  3. Each occupant of a PTV shall be restrained by a seat belt while the PTV is being operated on a public street. 
  4. Children under 8 years of age shall be restrained in a properly installed child passenger restraining system. Children may be restrained by a seat belt if child weighs at least 40 pounds or if the child’s height is over four feet and nine inches. 
  5. PTVs must use headlights and taillights when operated on public streets during non-daylight hours. 
  6. Operators of PTVs shall abide by all traffic regulations applicable to vehicular traffic using public streets. 
  7. PTVs shall not be operated on sidewalks or bike paths at any time. 


Registration is required once every five (5) years or when ownership is transferred. 

PTV Operations Pamphlet

PTVs Guide to Operating

Golf Cart picture provided by Georgia Economic Development Department